Talon’s Point of the Day – Jan 15th, 2016 “Stop Being Unreasonable!”

“I beseech you therefore, brethren, by the mercies of God, that you present your bodies a living sacrifice, holy, acceptable to God, which is your reasonable service.” – Apostle Paul, to the Christians of Rome (Romans 12:1)

 

For reasons that cannot be stated here I’m brought back to this verse I posted about in September 2014. While we all fail I cannot stress just how critical it is that we, myself included, do not excuse our sin, whether secret or public. We simply cannot continually hold that we love God while disregarding his precepts. Secret sin at least indicates he is dealing with our hearts through his loving conviction. Open sin tends to indicate we have stopped listening to that still small voice grafted into us at conversion. A voice that should in time consume us so that it’s no longer a graft but our very root of life. When we say “yes but I love God even though I’m doing this thing I know grieves his heart and I think it’s ok”, or “I know its wrong but I’m going to do it anyway and God understands and I love him” we are deluding ourselves, for our Savior made it quite clear:

While Jesus was still talking to the crowd, his mother and brothers stood outside, wanting to speak to him.  Someone told him, “Your mother and brothers are standing outside, wanting to speak to you.”

 He replied to him, “Who is my mother, and who are my brothers?”  Pointing to his disciples, he said, “Here are my mother and my brothers.  For whoever does the will of my Father in heaven is my brother and sister and mother.”

 

Let us not grieve God’s spirit twice. First by our sin of conduct, then by our excuses.

 “……Nevertheless, when the Son of Man comes, will He really find faith on the earth?” – The Savior

Talon’s Point of the Day is meant to be concise yet thought provoking. If you are impacted feel free to share the point with others, with or without citation.

 

Toss in your "two cents" if you care to. Fair warning, you might get change ;-)

