Talon’s Point of the Day – Dec. 28th, 2015 Don’t Be Fooled By A Fool

When we attempt to view God through the lens of our own choosing, we end up seeing a fool in a mirror. Don’t be fooled by a fool.  Set aside the foolish pride that compels you to define God on your terms. We can only view God on His terms. Terms He provided in His written word. Once we accept His terms, He reveals Himself to us in amazing ways each day if we are looking.

Talon’s Point of the Day is meant to be concise yet thought provoking. If you are impacted feel free to share the point with others, with or without citation.

4 thoughts on “Talon’s Point of the Day – Dec. 28th, 2015 Don’t Be Fooled By A Fool

  1. kaptonok December 28, 2015 / 11:40 PM

    This is a circular argument which conveniently blocks all opposition.
    Anyone who disagrees with you is viewing God through a lense of his/her own choosing. Heads you win tails you win.

    • Talon's Point December 29, 2015 / 7:22 AM

      Incorrect for I did not provide my own definition of God. If you disagree with the point, you are disagreeing with God’s words for he alone defines himself. As such you’ll have to take your argument to one of much higher authority than myself but I thank you for the comment. Your argument is in essence defending the view that God then can be defined but us rather than Himself. How can we possibly be qualified? (Rhetorical question)

      • kaptonok December 29, 2015 / 7:48 AM

        Well a lot of experts think they are qualified. Now I’m a layman with no higher education and ignorant of many things, but you are taking a radical position.
        Radical Christianity or indeed any radical religious view leaves no room for debate and sets dangerous precedents.
        What you are saying in effect is:
        I’m right because God says I’m right so do not argue with me.
        That is what ISIS is saying except they say :Im right if you dont agree I will kill you.

      • Talon's Point December 29, 2015 / 8:35 AM

        Kap, “radical” is in the eye of the beholder. The better question is “Scriptural” for in God’s word is found God’s truth.

        Your inference that “radical” Christianity is somehow violent has no basis in Christianity. The ‘radical’ Christian seeks to be more like Christ, thus laying down their lives to serve him through love of humanity. Radical Judaism has little history of violence other than that of defense. Radical Islam is something wholly different, where the person trying to become more like it’s founder, becomes more violent in their heart, like it’s founder. To equate the views of the Christ follower to that of ISIS because both commit to being true followers to their founders is at best emotional. Beyond that I’ll leave it to the reader to ponder.

        Your projection of “I’m right because” is duly noted and leads back to original sin. Actually, if I wanted to say I’m right I’d stray from God’s precepts and choose the ways of my own desires. Instead I only choose to align my views with God’s despite my own will, seeking to become more like His perfect, sinless, Son, who gave his life to pay to price for you and me to be restored to THE perfect and sinless God.

        In a world where setting one’s own will and views up on a throne of our own making is the norm, I seek to be a radical. I seek to be a true Christian.

Toss in your "two cents" if you care to. Fair warning, you might get change ;-)

