Sonnet I: No More

“No More” – A Sonnet by David Emeron

David Emeron: Sonnets

No touch, no sleep, no rest, no love like mine
For thee, shall ere console me in my place
Of rest.  No more shall any weight of thine
My breastconsole.  No more, thy fairest face,

Within my whole creation be contained.
No more shall I awaken, feel my heart
And thine, and should not feel that there be twain.
Not rhythm, nor our beings, be made to part.

No more shall flesh be moved nor move mine own
By neither wish, nor thought, nor even touch,
To such a fervent height as we have known–
As only I and thou have felt this much.

Must I, in perpetuity, endure
No more, no more, no more, no more… no more….

This sonnet is part of a short sequence; click here to read it all:

Permalink

View original post

4 thoughts on “Sonnet I: No More

  1. David Emeron January 22, 2014 / 9:08 PM

    But hopefully not hopey-change. Glad you enjoyed this one enough to reblog it. I am most gratified.

    • Talon's Point January 22, 2014 / 9:30 PM

      Glad to do so. Heart felt writing is a rarity in this world. My style is much different but yours strikes a nerve, in a good way. It’s you gift from God. Looking forward to reading more.

      • David Emeron January 22, 2014 / 10:32 PM

        Romanticism is far from dead, Sir. It/we are simply doing what many others are doing–or have realised that they must do: namely make what enthusiasts of certain sports call “an end run” around the generally established (dare I say marxist) order. Home schoolers, autodidacts, businessmen who barter, artists, poets, and musicians and many others are doing so.

        Although all of my work may be described as such an “end run,” you may (or may not : ) be interested in my work which is more directly so. For example, this sequence of (currently) six sonnets:

        http://davidemeron.com/tag/the-rape-of-the-masters/#post-546

        I should preface these a bit:

        First, my sequence links present their entries in “blog” order and therefore they will take you to the first item which is on the bottom of the page and you must then scroll up. I know this is counter-intuitive for groups of sonnets meant to be read sequentially, but until I decide to self-host, there is little I can do about that.

        Second: since I see you are a man of deeply held faith, and that we do not know each other well, I should like to preface this sequence by informing you that any reference to “gods” that you will read are simply a metaphoric device for “those who create,” e.g. engineers, artists, &c. Once we get to sonnet #6, however we are dealing with “The” God. Normally I wouldn’t feel the need to preface this, but I would feel much aggrieved if you were to misunderstand or be needlessly offended by the sequence. It is not often that I will direct someone to such serious work straight-away.

      • Talon's Point January 22, 2014 / 11:33 PM

        No explanation necessary. I will read on

Toss in your "two cents" if you care to. Fair warning, you might get change ;-)

