Talon’s Point of the Day – April 17th, 2015 Relax, It’s Just Another Sin

As a follow up to yesterday’s point You Don’t Deserve Salvation…THANK GOD!!! I wanted to add the following:

Just as there has permeated the modern Church the view that Jesus died for you because you were worthy of him doing so, the secondary view that once Jesus died for you, and once you accepted him as your Savior, that there is no longer anything required of you in relationship to your salvation has also spread through the body like a virus. In other words “Jesus died for ALL your sins so relax and don’t sweat it. It’s just another sin.”

This view, in my humble opinion, is counter to the Word, and as Christ is the Word made flesh, this view is counter to Christ himself.

Let me be clear. Yes Jesus died for all our sins, past, present, future. No I don’t think that just because we falter that we have lost our salvation. However, to think that we can feel relaxed about our sin because the price has been paid is to risk making light of sin and when we cross that shallow Rubicon of seemingly warm gentle water we have entered a place where God does not reside.

While I could easily provide dozens upon dozens of verses to uphold this point I know I’m steering toward the turbulent waters of the “Once Saved Always Saved” debate that I’m hesitant to venture off into on this post. However I will add this which I’ve said in the past:

“Christ was not faithful, even faithful to a cross, so that we could live comfortably in our sin without consequence” – Talon

 

Talon’s Point of the Day is meant to be concise yet thought provoking. If you are impacted feel free to share the point with others, with or without citation.

One thought on “Talon’s Point of the Day – April 17th, 2015 Relax, It’s Just Another Sin

Toss in your "two cents" if you care to. Fair warning, you might get change ;-)